Internal organization

EPOS-Seismology builds its internal organization on three pillars, representing the existing community-driven seismological institutions on European level: ORFEUS, EMSC, EFEHR. The EPOS-Seismology consortium provides overall governance and coordination.

EPOS-Seismology relies heavily on the community-driven European level institutions that are already established. These organizations are built on membership of national academic institutions working in seismology, as well as relevant governmental agencies. These national infrastructures  are the main providers of data and products to EPOS-Seismology.

The historic development and current scope of the European level institutions reflects on first order also the data processing chain, with access to waveform data and associated services being organized under the umbrella of ORFEUS, Seismological Products within the context of EMSC together with the historical earthquake information archive AHEAD, and seismic hazard and risk information is handled by the EFEHR consortium. High-resolution 3D waveform modeling, as a first application of Computational Seismology, is currently included in the waveform pillar.

Each of the existing European level institutions already has its own governance structure (or is developing it), which addresses how member organizations are represented, how they participate in the decision making processes, and how duties and responsibilities are assigned. The main governance tasks on the level of EPOS-Seismology are to ensure the coordination among the pillars, and to represent EPOS-Seismology within EPOS. To look after these tasks a very slim EPOS-Seismology Consortium is currently being developed, where together with the three pillars also the seismological scientific user committee shall be represented.

Except for the overall EPOS-Seismology governance, all services provided by EPOS-Seismology are organized within the three pillars. Here, the national infrastructures play a crucial role as providers of data and products, which are then distributed through the common European level services. All the national member institutions of ORFEUS, EMSC and EFEHR are key contributors to EPOS.

ORFEUS collects seismological waveforms from 63 national institutions. The distributed European Integrated Data Archive EIDA is operated jointly by participating EIDA nodes hosted by national infrastructures. Further waveform related services are provided by the ORFEUS data center ODC, hosted at KNMI, like the Rapid Raw Strong Motion (RRSM) portal and the Europena StationBook. INGV Milano operates the Engineering Strong Motion Portal ESM

EMSC 's main mission is the rapid collection and dissemination of parametric earthquake information from its 76 member institutions. The EMSC secretariat, hosted by the CEA, is the central infrastructure which operates the majority of EMSC services on behalf of the members. Key nodal members have special tasks within the EMSC. Historical Earthquake information is provided by AHEAD, a consortium of nine national institutions, with the central office hosted by INGV Milano.

EFEHR was established during recent European projects addressing the provision and coordination of seismic hazard and risk data, products and services. These projects involved a large number of national academic institutions working in this field, and / or in charge of providing seismic hazard information on a national level. The EFEHR hub is hosted by ETH, and GFZ, INGV, AUTH, BOUN, and EUCENTRE are providing specific services within EFEHR.